2020 WLECHA Awards

*Click on the Officer/Deputy name to read the Nomination Form/Incident*

K9 Handler of the Year: 

Deputy Brandon Christianson - Wood County Sheriff

K9 Rookie Handler of the Year: 

Officer Steven Chojnacki – Cedarburg PD

Meritorious K9 Apprehension: 

Deputy Craig Rekoske – Shawano County Sheriff


Meritorious Track with Apprehension: 

Deputy Brandon Christianson – Wood County Sheriff

Meritorious Narcotics Find: 

Detective Holly McManus – St. Francis PD


Meritorious Article Find: 

Deputy Troy Deiler – Marathon County Sheriff

Meritorious Track: 

Officer Christopher Hasz – Marshfield PD

Merit Award - K9 Retired or End of Watch: 

Sergeant Jason Behm - K9 Harlow - Jefferson County SO

Officer Sarah Boespflug - K9 Falko - Madison PD

Officer Jon Cerqua - K9 Jax - West Allis PD

Officer Benjamin Conway - K9 Kilo - Darlington PD

Officer Mark Jaeger - K9 Layla - Wausau PD

Officer Brian James - K9 Nash - Sparta PD

Officer Terry Kind - K9 Ori - Holmen PD

Lieutenant Luis Lopes-Serrao - K9 Zander - Wausau PD

Officer Joshua Morgan - K9 Vader - Brown Deer PD

Deputy James Pidgeon - K9 Toro - Wood County SO

Detective Jeff Zientek - K9 Sonny - West Allis PD

Deputy Robert Zill - K9 Franz - Winnebago County SO




The association is open to active and retired law enforcement. You do not need to be a canine handler.


Membership Application


K9 Legal Seminar

March 16-17, 2021

Waukesha County Technical College

Click here for more information

SKIDDS / CATS Class 242

August 6-8, 2021

Iowa County Sheriff's Office

Click here for more information



PO Box 136

Germantown, WI 53022


Mail:  wlechatreasurer@gmail.com

  • Facebook

© 2020 Wisconsin Law Enforcement Canine Handler Association